Welcome!

We’re always told that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. After all, you are literally “breaking the fast” of the night before and kick-starting your metabolism.

Growing up as an Egyptian in the UAE, and having been blessed with a stay-at-home mom with a passion for all things culinary, ‘exotic’ breakfasts were my every day. My wonderfully scrumptious every day, that is!

Although  a lot of what was  once exotic (hummus, falafel, pita), has now entered mainstream Canadian culture,  most Canadians still haven’t the foggiest of how to prepare these items from scratch, with fresh, wholesome ingredients.

And that’s where I come in. In the spirit of injecting some excitement into your breakfast routine, and in an attempt to make my mama proud, join me as I relive some of the breakfast foods of my youth. I promise a bit of history, a lot of recipes and, of course, many pictures!

Speaking of pictures, I’ll start with the header of this blog. It’s a picture of my brother, his wife and I in Egypt. Oh and we’re just about to dig into our breakfast of course 😀 Now there’s a breakast I’d love to relive :D! And, speaking of Egypt…

Did You Know: In Egyptian, the word for bread is “aish”, which means “life”? It should be no surprise then that my very first recipe post will be dedicated to making homemade pita bread; the backbone of a proper Egyptian breakfast. Stay tuned!

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Welcome!

  1. Julie Allison

    Hi Alia!

    Your blog idea is great! I love how you incorporated your history and up-bringing into it. I look forward to hearing your stories and hopefully trying some of the recipes you share with us!! Have fun 🙂

    Julie Allison

  2. Hi Julie 🙂

    Thanks for your comment! Glad you like the idea, I have a new post coming soon; hope it doesn’t disappoint :)!

    -Alia

  3. Antonia

    Hey Alia,

    I’m so excited to see what type of recipes you put up! I am familiar the foods you mentioned that are now considered mainstream in Canadian culture but I have never eaten them for breakfast. I can’t wait to see how you incorporate these into the first meal of the day.

    I also like how you set up your blog–it is easy to read and not too crowded. I’ll be checking it regularly 🙂

    Antonia

    • Hi Antonia,
      Thanks for your comment! 🙂 Funny because to me, falafel and hummus are breakfast foods 😀 I do, however, love them enough to eat them for lunch and dinner too, hehehe 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by and I hope the blog doesn’t disappoint!

  4. Elaine Yao

    Alia, cool idea!
    My first exposure to hummus and falafel was actually at Guelph on campus. I really liked it so I’m also looking forward to reading about your breakfast ideas on these!

  5. I’m so excited to see what sort of recipes you will be showing us Alia! You have taught me to love Egyptian food!

  6. Alia,
    I LOVE your blog! It is really fun, a little bit exotic and exceptionally well written. And the pictures and history add such a great touch. I look forward to more posts!
    -Anna

  7. Alia this is such a great idea! I am so excited to read about all your breakfast ideas, as I’m sure they’ll be unique and tasty :)!
    -Ricky Janssen

  8. Your blog sounds very interesting, especially because you seem very passionate about these exotic breakfasts! I am excited to read more and try out your recipes!

    • I’m very passionate about food in general (aren’t all AHN students? :P), but the breakfast foods I grew up with, especially so! 🙂

      Thanks for the comment! I’ll be sure to head on over to your blog as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

